RSS Feed

When Worlds Collide…

Last Minecraft Monday I posted about how awesome it was to see Notch not only mention, but darn right support Quake 3 and it’s greatness.  Imagine my surprise when checking his twitter feed today to see the one and only David Jaffe having a short convo with the Notch-man! (I’ll link to it, but there’s a big ol’ TMI warning in effect.  Let’s just say the next person to respond said “Can’t unsee!”

Since I got the post all situated, here’s some random findings about the games I’ve found out tonight:

Twisted Metal

  • Twisted Metal will apparently have a demo before launch.
  • Rated games might be region locked, unranked are not.
  • Twister will not be in this TM.  Maybe DLC, sayth The Jaffe.
  • When you level up online, you unlock new ‘items’.  Everything has a pro and a con, and they are sure not to make anything imbalanced so high levels will not innately dominate low levels, etc.

Minecraft

  • After 1.8 comes 1.9 and 1.10, not 2.0.  (Random factoid I suppose)
  • Notch will give his hat away, but promises to buy a new one, hah.
  • The demo of patch 1.8 will apparently be quite flat by comparison to how Notch had planned it.  It is a temporary work around to allow NPC villages to look good and saves time.  (Make that the first proposed thing they need to change before 1.8 goes live for the rest of us!)
  • Notch is stressed out about making the deadline and is keeping quite to avoid upsetting fans.   He wishes not to make promises that might not materialize in time, and since the press is going to be doing all the hands-on, I can see why he wouldn’t want to bother ‘those’ guys XD

As I originally planned on just making the post about the funny collision of my gaming worlds, I didn’t copy/paste all these tweets before hand so I’d have to do quite a lot of digging and checking to make sure I got the links in the right order, so let’s just trust my findings without factual linkage this once, mmm’kay?  All of them were posted before August 24th, in case you *really* want to fact check for an essay or something.  Yay random google hits!  In that case, good luck on that essay, Mr. Essay Writer From the Future!

2 responses »

  1. My son has been coming home from school everyday talking about playing Minecraft with his friends. I’m going to let him use my account. I just haven’t had time to play it or follow al the new stuff.

    Reply
    • Oh yeah man, it’s nice. Depending on how long it’s been since you took a peek at the stuff that came out: Pistons arrived which changed a great deal of how people play the game. Plus you can make elaborate gadgets with it, so there’s that too ^_^

      Wrote a *bunch* about it already in previous posts, the new mob (Enderman) he talked about, the adventuring mechanics and new combat abilities. The only worry I have is that one of the lead programmers said in an interview that the Adventure patch will seemingly not link up with the mode we have all been playing since last year. I know it’s gonna jump from beta to live, but I’d still like to keep my current worlds active. Either way, plenty more info to arrive once PAX hits in a few days. Thanks for commentin’ Booster!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

