RSS Feed

Minecraft Monday: Look at me still talking when there’s SCIENCE to do…

Another week, another post-y post!  Notch, yet again, has nothing on his blog for two weeks running.  Well, he did update it twice but, bleh.  Sigh.  Okay, I’ll talk about it…

 

We’re Out of Beta and Releasing on Time

A few ago, Notch said 11/11/2011 would be the official release date of Minecraft.  The game will not be very different from what it is now, and it will continue to be updated.  So… honestly other than dropping off “Beta” from the end of it, not much will change from how it works right now.  Either way, he wanted to have a get together as he has done in the past, and since “he freaking loves the place,” he wanted it to be held in Las Vegas.  There’d be contests like dressing up (five bucks on Creepers being as prominent as people doing the Troll dance at Blizzcon!), to speed building, and even a live reveal and release of Minecraft going retail on stage.

I honestly didn’t think much of this news, but know some people go gaga over stuff like this.  I put more money into WoW than the ‘Craft and had no urge to go to any of their conventions.  Heck, even for the pet I didn’t want to get the TV access.  But if ya’ll want to wait in line wearing green duct tape-covered card board boxes and “sss”-ing at each other like a pylon of pythons, feel free XD

The actual juicy bits come from his twitter feed, which normally I just gloss over the recent stuff, but there is quality to be found this week!  For starters:

  • They are currently doing larger and less frequent patches, but will do nightly and smaller builds “eventually” source
  • He’s considering adding a new mob to the next patch source
  • Killed off Mine cart boosters, now only booster tracks will be able to propel you source
  • Greatly reduced the speed of boat’s floating up when submerged in water, thus making boat and water elevators still viable, but much slower source
  • Increasing the speed of Powered Mine carts and Powered Rails source source
  • Has quite a few posts related to coffee, adding that he was going to add something just for fun vs bug fixes.  Potentially hinting at coffee beans/coca beans being added for reals? Coffee Machine drink?  Or just crazy coder-speak? source
  • Trapdoors!  Only they do not let water through, and are only 1 block wide.  So think doors, but opening down instead of sideways.  And one block tall instead of two ^_^ source
  • The Nether in multiplayer is almost ready!  Also, as it will be a different zone, so people can still use beds to make it day/not thunderstorming while others are dying to Ghasts and lava. source source

Quite a haul, wouldn’t ya say?  No word on Pistons, but he said he’ll list all the bugs he fixed when the patch releases.

 

Buildin’ Newz!

So, few weeks back muh ol’ buddy Ben invited me onto his server, but the Misses and I didn’t really have a lot of time that day so we sort of took the tour and that was that.  This past week we did manage to squeeze in some… well okay a *lot* of time and ended up making this!

Uh… My bad >.> I kinda forgot that we didn’t take down the dirt scaffolding and walls around the base.   Awkward.  Well, uh… good news!  I know what I’ll be posting about next time!  More good news, you totally were curious about how to build a tree farm weren’t you?  Well!  We’d be in luck then, so how about I go and take a few screen shots and then we’re both golden, ‘kay?

 

Tree Farmin’

Ugh, to top it off, I go to upload pictures and a bit later it looks like wordpress decided not to save anything after this point, so I’mma have to work on what I recall >.<  (I was all done too’s! Gah!)

I started out wanting to grow trees underground to force them to grow straight up, no limbs and stuffs to get in the way.  This was touchy at best, but lead to some *gnarly* looking trees as I think it messed with the coding a bit.  For awhile there I simply planted trees close to one another, waited for all of ‘em to pop, then light their leaves on fire.

Minecraft Day 2: Fires Upclose and Distant

Glorious. Sexy-time. Fire.

But Notch went and got rid of ever-burning tree stumpz :(  So I lost my urge to go tree hunting for a while, but as we needed a great deal of coal recently, I found that ol’ itch re-surfacing, and of course, I needed a way to do it efficiently.

I went back to the underground idea, even testing it with the new alpine and birch saplings.  Neither did much, but, again, the original trees geeked right the heck out!  Massive in size and randomness.  But man can they hold a flame… /sinister giggle

 

The Birch and the Bees

At first I thought alpine trees would be best, but man-oh-man alive did I bet on the wrong horse!  Birch, baby!  That’s where the lumber is at!  If you are looking for a great source of lumber, go right on out there and find yourself a few birch saplings.  The birch tree is the mother of them, of course.  So just pry them from her wooden hands and get plantin’!  Kill off the poor girl if needed, *then* wrench them from her petrifying digits and plant ‘em!  Got like ten of them now?   Excellent!  (What?  Tree hunting is serious bid’ness!  Did you SEE Wizard of Oz?  Vicious coniferous brutes!)

I planted them in a few different patterns, and each worked.  The one I like the best of them all is a “torch-sapling-torch-torch-sapling-torch” line.  That is you place a sapling, move three blocks to one side and plant another sapling.  Repeat.  Then go back and place torches down on both sides of every sapling.  Multiply rows as needed, but again, leave space.  Here’s what I’m talking about if that was too confusin':

The white being Birch saplings, orange (more of a ‘acorn squash’, really.  But that’s getting technical…) are torches placed on the ground, and green is grass.  Silly.

The one on the far left is my favorite.  It has bad efficiency with torches, but produces the most lumber in the same amount of time.  If you want something more compact, feel free to try out the other two options I got up there.  Where they have good to great torch-efficiency, they lose out on actual trees.  The bigger one almost always can have all saplings pop into trees without your help, while the smaller grids need you to cut down a few first before others pop up in their place.  Here’s a shot of the two smaller ones in action:

Minecraft Online: Birch Tree Farm

Left side is super clustered grid, right side is the smaller but still compact grid.  See all the saplings?  This isn’t bad, mind you.  In fact if you wanna get lazy one day and just chop down what is there and leave you can do so as the others will get right on-a growin’ as soon as the air above them is clear.  That’s not to say the bigger grid is slow, not at all.  If every tree pops and you go about replanting them as you hack them down, you’ll commonly find yourself in a bit of a loop or whack-a-tree circuit as Birches grow crazy-fast.

Tip: Birches only grow straight up but sometimes just tall enough that you cannot reach the top.  How I got around this is to cut the eye-level log and up.  If the tree is ‘too’ tall, jump on the stump you left, chop down the final blocky segment, aim down and get rid of the stump, and plant a sapling!  That’s Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle in action, folks!

Great way to bank a huge amount of coal, too.  (As logs turn into coal in the furnace.)  I’m sure I said that already, but just in case ya missed it:  Simply put a wooden log (log, mind you.  Not a plank.  A Log.  LOG, I says!) into a furnace and cook it.  It’ll turn into Charcoal which is the same as coal.  If you are tight on space and need coal in a pinch, turn one log into coal, and that one charcoal can turn another eight logs into more charcoal.  Setting the snow-ball effect of ashy-awesome a-growin’!

The obviously Portal-related pictures I originally was going to post will have to wait until next time.  I’m currently playing WoW with the Misses, so no guarantees if the pictures will be up tomorrow or next week.  But, as a sign of  thanks that you made it this far, here’s a shot of us leveling up in Western Plaguelands.

Back 2 WoW: Twins!

Ain't we just precious?

21 responses »

  1. I just checked out the completed project on the server. It is amazingly awesome! I do look forward to the pics going up as well. :D

    Reply
    • Thanks, man ^_^ The outside of it has been done for like three days, minus dirt stuffs of course. Just need to touch up the inside bits and it’ll be golden! Of course I hit the level cap in WoW so now my buds are keeping me busy on that, too lol

      It’s weird how utterly gear-dependant the game really is. I can waste mobs for 5-18k crits yet on people I’m only hitting them for 1-5k, tops. Not to mention people tend to be more weasel-esque than AI. At least I got plenty of good news for my main character! Two-handed warriors are pretty darn annoying to fight without a healer backing me up.

      Reply
  2. Woo! you’re playing wow again :D

    Also Minecraft looks crazy. I think my OCD would kick in so it is good I don’t play.

    Reply
    • Aye ^_^ Started out as a free week and the Misses just wanted to keep playin’… For the record though I’m glad I did get to squeeze in like an hour of playtime before they got rid pet happiness. That’ll be another story and a screen shot if I can dig it up.

      Aww, you gotta give it a try eventually! When you’re actually playing the game, I don’t think you’ll have time to have your OCD-tendencies shine at all. Namely because the scary stuff that pops out at night and the quick pace you need to set to put down a few torches, walls, or dig in within a cave lest get nom-nomed by a zombie or leaping spider with friggin’ glowin’ eyes! It was those very monsters that got me so interested in Minecraft, as without it, there isn’t much of a threat.

      Now, if you are able to weather the storm of ninja suicide bombing Creepers and arrow shootin’ skeletons and make a hefty base for yourself, maaaaybe then you’d get into OCD-ville. But even then that would take you awhile. …And even if you did, you’d still be having fun! :P Think of the RP possibilities! Trapt on lands unknown, having to change the world around you with your bare hands just to survive, possibly even taming a pet wolf at your side as a trusty companion. Good stuffs!

      Reply
      • haha. I don’t have time for another game! lol. It sounds neat though :)

        Every so often Blizz really annoys me and I look at other games…so I’ll keep it in mind. :)

  3. Once again it seems you show me the errors of my ways in Minecraft (well kinda) I just whack trees in the ground everywhere then comeback later to cut them up for the lumber, plant them in an organised manner hmmm I’ve have to try that.

    The trap doors will be handy for finishing off my automatic wheat farm the boat/door/gravel system is very difficult to set up especially if you have no real clue about Redstone circuits.

    Reply
    • It’s just a suggestion, bud! I’m not Minecraft Nazi XD If your goal is a bunch of lumber fast, I’d recommend the above method. Birch grows very quickly and always straight up. Both of those qualities equal fast-harvesting. (But really, if you haven’t planted a few birch trees, try it out. You’ll be surprised how quickly they pop up!)

      Also this isn’t for decoration, so the grid might look a little domineering. I keep reusing my patch as it is very close to my base and thus I’m also reusing the torches that I’ve plopped down as well. Keeps em growing at night, though I don’t plan to stay there so I didn’t wall off the trees to allow me to safely harvest. You can easily get over two or three stacks of logs per daytime with this method, but again, this is just a suggestion and mathmatically the best that works that I’ve noticed.

      I have a feeling a birch-growing speed nerf is going to happen eventually though, but I hope it doesn’t ^_^

      Great call on the gravel for the trap door! Right away I thought of it but when they said water didn’t work I sorta poofed it out of my brain and forgot about it, so nice lateral thinkin’! I’ve done some tinkering with redstone stuff and know how it mostly works, though I have yet to really try out the new trigger switches he added, but it seems like that makes it easier so yay for that! I’ve noticed that copying what other people build helps a lot in terms of “oh, now I see!” moments. Built a powerful cannon once. Learning experiences abound.

      Only problem was I build it online when the red stone powder was very buggy. Had to rebuild that cannon *soo* many times…

      Reply
  4. ‘But if ya’ll want to wait in line wearing green duct tape-covered card board boxes and “sss”-ing at each other like a pylon of pythons, feel free XD’- ROFL, I can just imagine that!

    ””= Oops.. that’s the kitty typing hello ;) Anyhow, I haven’t been on WoW for a few days, just been tired and or busy, hope you guys are enjoying the WPL quests, those were really fun.

    Reply
    • Hewwo Kitteh!

      As for WoW, I think I’m taking a break from it for a day or so. The Misses has been busy so I’ve been playing my newly-minted 85 DK. Questing is still good, and kudos for all that. (Though Uldum is a little cinematic-heavy for my tastes.) I think I’m having an issue with high health pools, though. In PVP, each person, even 2 on 1 (as my cousin is healing me) can feel like a grind of itself. I know this is almost entirely a gear issue, but still. A daunting sigh sums up my currently max level toon’s thoughts on combat :P

      Still a lot of fun to be had in WoW, though! So it isn’t like I’m nockin’ it. Just some parts feel ‘heavy’, ya know? I might have to dust off a few ranged classes, or level up that hunter of mine. Maybe roll a disco priest to change it up. Actually, I forgot I made one with the Misses about a month ago! Given shadow priest’s abilities and that he’s undead, I went with “Mindrot” hee hee

      Reply
      • Grind feeling got a lot better last night. So my major woes with combat are reduced, though still think fresh 85s should be shielded from dudes rocking the best gear. And Lay on Hands needs a bit of a nerf, imo. Even in Wrath it never healed people to full, especially not over 100,000 health in one go. I remember when 18k crits were high for LoH…

        Currently have two pieces and the Sigil you can buy with Honor. Damage has not gone up too much, but at least I can see the enemies health bars move a bit for once ^_^

  5. Gratz on 85! A fresh 85 out there can feel like… Well dead meat. People notice your gear and think of you as an easy target. You may as well have a sign over your head screaming: KILL MEH NOW- FREE HONOR!

    After getting a few PvP items, I noticed it getting a little easier, hey I was killing some of those people instead of getting my face mauled off by DKs and Rogues constantly!

    DK is good, I say get up some gear and stick with it a little longer, I don’t think you will regret it. I run from them, they make me cry in PvP… lol.

    Uldum, I loved that place. Maybe it was just the feeling the zone gave me, I love Egyptian type stuff and that place was so full of it.

    Great name for the SP too!

    Reply
  6. Sup ive been looking at your stuff for a while in my graphic arts class at school found you on flickr finally found my old wordpress account and logged in!! i a great fan keep it going!!!

    Reply
  7. whats the server you play on tho the one with the cake shop that sells cake lol

    Reply
    • The ones I post pics are private; whitelisted and all that. Had a few problems with random people logging in and torching anything that could hold a flame, so yeah. They started locking up shop since then haha

      Reply
      • is there a place i can sign up to get white-listed?

      • Well, the cake server in particular is still down as Notch has been updating it like crazy and some server providers take forever to get back up after the patch. I still think you best bet is to check out the forums and see what ya like. The cake one is pretty much a default server with a little mmo flair added (chance to find glowstone when you dig dirt, for example). But now that the nether is up and running, that is an even smaller bonus than before. There are some *crazy* mods out there that servers can run, give em a look, or even install a mod yourself! That plastic or industrial craft one caught my eye for its innovation ^_^

  8. whats your fav then cause i had a miss understanding on buxville………. almost got banned danm siblings

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Minecraft Monday: Fences in Minecraft and YOU! Plus Patch 1.7 Tidbits « Encrazed Crafts

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

